Utah Abortion Laws

Code Section
Title 76, Chapter 7, Part 3

Statutory Definition of Illegal Abortion
(1) Failure to meet standards for legal abortion; (2) coercing someone to have abortion (3) intentional termination of human pregnancy including all procedures undertaken to kill alive, unborn child or produce a miscarriage(4) Partial Birth Abortion after viability has been determined, no person may knowingly perform a partial birth abortion, or dilation and extraction procedure, or a Saline abortion procedure, unless all other available abortion procedures would pose a risk a risk to the life or health of the pregnant woman, or, when due to a serious medical emergency, time does not permit.

Statutory Definition of Legal Abortion
Before 20 weeks, abortion is necessary to save mother’s life or health, if woman was raped or incest committed, or child has grave defects; after 20 weeks, necessary to preserve health, life of mother or if child would be born with grave defects

Penalty
Failure to meet standards, coercion, person performing unauthorized abortion not using medical skills to save unborn child, experimentation or buying or selling unborn child: third degree felony. M.D. not giving informed consent: “unprofessional conduct,” license may be revoked/suspended

Consent
Notice, if possible, to parents/guardian if minor unmarried (mandatory if public funds used), mother or husband if married; informed consent of mother required. M.D. must provide mother with information regarding abortion at least 24 hours before procedure except in medical emergency

Residency
N/A

License
Notice, if possible, to parents/guardian if minor unmarried (mandatory if public funds used), mother or husband if married; informed consent of mother required. M.D. must provide mother with information regarding abortion at least 24 hours before procedure except in medical emergency


Inside Utah Abortion Laws